Quick Tip – Cleaning: Vinegar and Baking Soda

Sodium bicarbonate CN

Image via Wikipedia

Here’s a quick tip for you:

I have no idea where I found it, but I’m pretty sure it’s from my mother. This acid base works well on may things, but mostly it works excellent in clogged drains.

PROCEDURE: I’m sure you could mix 1/2 vinegar and 1/2 baking soda to get optimal results, but I am a ‘reservist’ as I have dubbed myself. Therefore, I usually sprinkle a little baking soda in the drain and then pour baking soda in until it bubbles back up to the top.

SCIENCE: Essentially, acids and bases collide together to create a sort of friction on surfaces. It’s very gentle, so if you have seriously clogged drains it may not work. Nonetheless, it’s a wonderful hint if you have them around.

USES: You can also try it on surfaces that don’t stain easily because the baking soda can act sort of like a bleach. I have used baking soda as a base in many of my “homemade cleaning” expeditions. One, for example, was a piece of furniture that needed freshening. I sprinkled baking soda in and sprayed with the appropriate wood cleaner on the inside. It worked well to seal in the cleaner/freshener.

SMELL: Also remember that vinegar is kind of strong so don’t use it anywhere you don’t want to have the smell. Baking soda weakens the smell, but not entirely.

ALTERNATIVES: Think of what an acid is (lemon, lime, vinegar, etc.) and what could serve as a base (baking soda, and even baby powder) and play with them together in other ways. Be sure, however, to test them on a small patch before you go crazy cleaning!

One thought on “Quick Tip – Cleaning: Vinegar and Baking Soda

  1. Pingback: Going Green Part 2- Cleaning « Snob on a Budget

Leave a Reply

